CUAA Awards Announced

By Evan Bubniak (ME ’21)

On February 6, following the inauguration of President Laura Sparks, the Cooper Union Alumni Association announced its Founder’s Day Hall of Fame Awards. 

Richard Sarles (CE ‘67) was awarded the Gano Dunn Award for his work on improving mass transit across the Northeast Corridor.

Joanna Sherman (Art ‘69) was given the Peter Cooper Public Service Award for her theater work in post-war, refugee and disadvantaged areas.

Michael Samuelian (Arch ‘95) was given the John Q. Hejduk Award, which recognizes professional achievement in architecture, for his work on large-scale public private development projects, including Hudson Yards.

Katie Merz (Art ‘84) received the August Saint-Gaudens Award, which recognizes achievement in art, for her variety of art forms, large-scale public art commissions, and work teaching drawing at Cooper.

Jack Whitten (Art ‘64) posthumuously received the same award for his distinguished work in contemporary art, for which he also received the National Medal of the Arts in 2015. ◊

Leave a Reply